CP soccer: a dynamic duo

Paige Parks

With May well under way, the realization of the end of 2012-2013 Cedar Park sport’s seasons has just begun to sink in. Of all the Cedar Park sports teams and their climatic journeys, girls and boys soccer had some of the most memorable seasons.

The girls’ soccer team, consisting of a considerable amount of seniors, started their journey to state after the group was declared district 51-4A champions. The team faced Crockett in the first round of playoffs and won easily with a score of 9-0. However, the third round of playoffs proved a challenge for the Lady T-Wolves as they faced district rival Vandegrift.

“It was just as important as any other playoff game,” freshman Jenna Lipscomb said. “But we had more desire and determination because they were our big rival.”

They defeated Vandegrift 1-0, ending the Vipers’ hopes for a deep playoff run. After a few hard fought games and victorious playoff rounds later, the girls advanced to the state tournament for the second year in a row.

“It felt like we were getting a second chance,” junior Kat Hill said. “It was the goal we set the first day of school and we worked our butts off to reach it.”

The Lady T-Wolves faced Highland Park, the returning state champions, in the state semi-final game. After a hard fought game, the team came up short, losing 2-1.

“It stinks losing the opportunity to win State twice, but it keeps us humble,” Hill said. “Plus, third time is the charm, right?”

The girls soccer team, however, was not the only team attempting to make history on the turf. The boys soccer team advanced to playoffs after winning district 51-4A, and moved on to become bi-district champs.

“I feel really good about our accomplishments this season,” senior Brandon Mendoza said. “I’m going to miss playing with this group of hard-working guys.”

Both award-winning teams amounted a plethora of district, and even Centex honors. Among these are Centex player of the year Kayci Griffin, Centex Defensive MVP Haleigh Maycomb, and Centex Coach of the Year Jennifer Womack.

The rest of the awards follow:


District MVP: Cole Labrake, Sr.

District Offensive MVP: Sam Jackson, Sr.

District Goalkeeper MVP: Zach Masters, Sr.

District coach of the year: Brandon Schmidt

1st team all-district:

Jackson Dobravolsky, Sr.

Hayden Houston, Jr.

Brandon Mendoza, Sr.

Tracer Moore, Jr.

2nd team all-district:

Brian Castelli, Jr.

Stefan Fulks, Jr.

Zach Hancock, Jr.

Tristan Serigny, Jr.


District MVP: Kayci Griffin, Sr.

District Goalkeeper MVP: Alanis Guevara, Soph.

District coach of the year: Jennifer Womack

1st team all-district:

Kassi Hormuth, Jr.

Jenna Lipscomb, Fr.

Haleigh Maycomb, Sr.

Madison Sanders, Sr.

2nd team all-district:

Lexi Brown, Sr.

Sabrina Cone, Soph.

Erin Delony, Sr.

Sophie Sanchez, Sr.