The student newspaper and broadcast of Cedar Park High School

The Wolfpack

The student newspaper and broadcast of Cedar Park High School

The Wolfpack

The student newspaper and broadcast of Cedar Park High School

The Wolfpack

Senior executive editor Natalie Murray, senior associate editor Lily Cooper and junior designer Ava Eaton all sit in conversation with recent clients. After the completion of the Parks and Trails Foundation logo, representatives visited the T-Wolf Agency to provide thanks for all the work done. “I know how beneficial it is to be able to work with clients,” Murray said. “We had a previous executive editor come back and tell us how good of an opportunity it is to have this agency here especially if you want to go into graphic design after high school. The people she’s in classes with didn’t have any access to the things we do here and theres only one other LISD school that has a class like this. It’s just a really good opportunity to get real world experience especially when we get to work with people outside the school. It’s just so real to get that experience with actual clientele and how things really work in the industry.”
Photo by Paige Hert
Sketch to Screen
Jane Yermakov, Reporter • February 23, 2024

Walking through the halls, climbing...

Posing with the gold ball trophy, the varsity girls basketball team takes a team photo after beating Liberty Hill 42-37 in round three of the playoffs. The team will face Corpus Christi Veterans Memorial High School on Friday at 5:30 p.m in San Antonio. “I’m feeling so excited [to move on in the playoffs],” senior guard Avery Allmer said. “I feel like this is a big moral boost because we’ve lost a lot of close games and I feel like this is just a really big win for us.” Photo by Alyssa Fox
Third Time's a Charm
Alyssa Fox, Reporter • February 21, 2024

The varsity girls basketball team...

Carefully balancing one piece of paper over another, junior Ryder Wilkinson builds a paper tower with his team at the Architecture Club’s second meeting. Ryder said he was interested in architecture in the past, but the Architecture Club allowed him to get back into it and learn new things. “I [won] one of the competitions, the first one that we had,” Wilkinson said. “[In the second competition] we lost [because] we could not build a tall enough tower that could withstand the blow of a powerful fan, [but] I still had fun because I was with my friends.”
Building A Legacy
Kaydence Wilkinson, Reporter • February 21, 2024

After hours of sketching, days...

A few of my favorite movies of this month are shown in this image. I had to limit myself to only two Andy Samberg movies, otherwise the graphic looks more like a memorial.
Movie a Day: January
Mia Morneault, Reporter • February 20, 2024

I know, another movie review article...

Echo is a short TV series about a deaf Native American assassin who tasks herself to discover the secret behind her extraordinary ancestral gifts, while trying to fall her uncle’s empire in the process. Graphic by Cason Johnson
Sight of Sound
Cason Johnson, Reporter • February 16, 2024

I was lazily scrolling through...

Pictured above is the crafting club social media page that junior Makena Filippoff and sophomore James Morris-Hodges created. The crafting club was created to allow students to have an opportunity to learn how to create different kinds of crafts and to collaborate with other students interested in crafting. “I love to do crafts but I find myself feeling lonely when doing crafts,” Filippoff said. “With no one to share my ideas or experiences with, it can get boring. I wanted to get a group of people that have an interest in learning [and] doing crafts to be able to have fun and socialize while crafting.”
Photo used with permission from Makena Filippoff
Sewing and Social Hour
Julia Seiden, Reporter • February 16, 2024

The sound of scissors snipping,...

Elon Musk Vs. Mark Zuckerberg

No, This is Not the Wrestling Match
X and Threads are practically the same from the naked eye. However, one trait that has continuously plagued is what makes users trend using one over the other.
Jonathan Levinsky
X and Threads are practically the same from the naked eye. However, one trait that has continuously plagued is what makes users trend using one over the other.

For the past decade, social media has lived in (somewhat) harmony using the former “big four” social media outlets: X, formerly known as Twitter (for those who are quick to anger), Facebook (for moms), Instagram (same thing as Facebook, except its for kids and those who are looking to be “hip” and fly”) and Snapchat (think of it as direct messaging, but cooler).

Out of those four, Twitter was easily the most popular, with celebrities and athletes alike “tweeting” their thoughts and opinions on some of the more controversial topics and events trending in society, and then an average Joe could reply to their tweet as if they were talking to that superstar face-to-face.

In October 2022, the company was sold to Tesla and SpaceX CEO Elon Musk, who changed its name to “X” in April 2023. During that time, social media began to hype up a potential UFC-style wrestling match between Musk and Mark Zuckerberg, the owner and CEO of X’s rival company, Meta. While it turned out to be true, Zuckerberg tore his ACL while training, ending any promise of a billionaire brawl in the near future.

However, prior to taking his not-so-gracious fall, Zuckerberg threw the first punch. This past July, Meta launched its own version of an X style platform: Threads.

Story continues below advertisement

I would like to point out that X is still much, much more popular than Threads, despite the fact that Threads enjoyed over one million new users during its first day on the app store. But even then, it still leads me to wonder, where do both apps succeed, and where they fail in comparison.

When creating a new account, both apps ask you the same things; personal information, favorite topics, etc. Something that X does well here, is that once your account is activated, it only suggests topics and accounts to follow based on your preferences. In other words, it lets you lean into its community until you are comfortable enough to expand from there. Only then the controversial topics start to appear on your page. Once you get there, good luck.

Threads seems to have taken the controversial tendencies of X into stride. When I finished creating my account, one of the first things that it showed me were opinion “threads.” It’s the exact same thing as X conversations, it just uses a different name. Like its rival, these threads were based on what I had selected for my preferences. However, and here’s where it gets good, they were the exact opposite of what I wanted to see. Almost every thread was about something I disagreed with logically or morally; sometimes both.

I get it, people have opinions, fine. But when I log onto social media, I also want to see stories and topics that I agree with, just so I can enjoy my experience even a little bit.

Yes, Threads is still young, but that doesn’t mean that it should already be riddled in toxicity and misinformation.

Choose X.

 

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
Jonathan Levinsky, Reporter
Jonathan is a senior and a first year reporter. In addition to being a member of the staff for The Wolfpack, he is also a part of the choir and theatre departments. He loves to write, research and sing. He is hoping to be able to attend Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Communications next fall to major in Sports Journalism. He makes the worst dad jokes and constantly cracks himself up. Be careful, he might tell you one!

Comments (0)

Comments on The Wolfpack must be approved before posting.
All The Wolfpack Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *